dogwithnobrain

By dogwithnobrain

And it ain't me who's gonna leave

This is Church Street, in Troon.

It's name always confuses me, because there is only one church on it, whereas Ayr Street, parallel to it, has two Churches on it, which I believe, warrants it more right to be called Church Street, than Church Street. The way I remember is that Ayr Street, is full of Air..... the wind howls up and down it.

This is taken from a strange angle - my Nant didn't recognise it when I showed her - it's not a direction you would normally look at it from.

When I think back to how Troon has changed in my life time, I wonder how much more it is going to change. Where I am standing was for a short spell a "Beach Walk". There were paths meandering over man-made hills, providing a protection to the town from the Clyde's winds. One winter we walked to these hills and sledged up and down them until we were numb.

When I was little, Church Street hosted the town's supermarket which was "Liptons", and then "Templetons". When I was at Primary School, it moved across the road, into a purpose built building, and Troon had a "supermarket".

It wasn't long before we outgrew that Supermarket - maybe 20 years, and a new supermarket with more square footage was built. Another 15 years, and Troon outgrew that supermarket too. And my photograph is taken from the Car Park of this latest incarnation of shopping heaven.

Much as I love the convenience of a large supermarket on the doorstep, I did love the green hills, and the views over the Clyde. At least the views are still there, and there is some grass, just not quite as "rolling", and not quite as much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.