While on my runs

By waipushrink

Grey Lynn Community Centre

While on my run this morning I went past the Centre, something I do many times a week, as it is on the way to my office. I have always liked the interesting shapes and angles in the building and the different colours. It is in stark contrast to the drab concrete monstrosity nearby which houses the Department of Social Welfare offices. And there is a sense of vitality (energy and life) from the activities and groups using it.

The carved arch in front of the main entrance is a reflection of the fact that this building serves many of the functions of the traditional Whare Hui (literally house for meetings), and is relatively recently been added to the building.

The coloured tiled pieces in the front give a sense of the different activities in the area, and the multiethnic nature of the local neighbourhood.

At 6:30 in the morning the sun was barely above the horizon, and the light was soft. The main source of lighting is provided by the building itself.

This picture, like that of the people playing Touch on Saturday, is to acknwledge where I live and how lucky I am to do so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.