A blip for my Valentine

I worked at home this morning, keeping my cough to myself. There was a ring on the doorbell and this delightful Valentine gift was waiting on the doormat. The giver was unsuccessfully trying to conceal himself behind a pillar. I was very touched - having been a touch poorly I had not succeeded in getting so much as a bad taste card for him. Mind you, I think he'll drink a little of the Speyside Lossie....

I'm not sure if the tasting notes will be readable on the bottle label, so I've transcribed them for your amusement. The em-boldening is all theirs.

64.28
Lots of ginger

The Panel was transported somewhere tropical - aromas of fresh ginger root, coconut milk, white rum and Crabbies ginger ale, melon, Jamaican ginger cake, vanilla and creme caramel; tastes of plump raisins, mead, malty sweetness, and dry woody notes all made this 'just perfect'. The Panel found that it stood up well to water but lost some of its amazing depth; butterscotch, chocolate covered raisins, woody spice, vanilla sugar and a well made Cuba Libre - rum, cola and fresh lime. Big and thick to taste, with a sweet hot and dry mouthfeel. This distillery draws its water from the Mannoch Hills.

Colour: Tropical sunshine
Cask: First fill ex-bourbon barrel
Age: 9 years
Date distilled: Mar 2001
Alcohol: 58.4%
Outturn: 240

Drinking tip: Instead of champagne on a romantic evening

I went in to the office this afternoon as our VC was visiting and wanted an informal chat with the local troops. He displayed his usual amazing grasp of detail and informed optimism and cheered everyone up no end. A good man to have at the helm in these interesting times in which we live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.