The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Post apocalypse serenity

Kent Estuary, Sandside, Cumbria. View towards Whitbarrow

You can view this one large.

Some advice. Don't read Cormac McCarthy's post apocalypse novel "The Road" in bed before you switch the lights off. I had trouble sleeping and when I did, I had grey dreams populated by emaciated, starving, spectral figures. It's bleak, powerful, haunting...and I'm hoping there's something optimistic and redemptive to look forward to. It has to get less bleak at some point. It has to.

The Kent Estuary in the morning is the perfect antidote to a restless night, particularly on mornings like this when the water is mirror calm and the light is growing in a partially clouded sky. The solitary black-headed gull alighted on the water in front of me, while out of shot a goldeneye was diving for fish. The bubbling calls of curlews carried from distant mudflats, and a cormorant flew across my line of vision. Calmness and serenity. Preparation for a busy day in the office, catching up after yesterday's day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.