Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Creative

This week I have been inspired. Inspired to create masterpieces in our new kitchen.

I have been stepping outside of the culinary box and have been trying new recipes.

And the dinners have been following a specific theme. Kind of like, "Cooking around the world with Abstract Eyes".

*Louisiana Southern-style meal on Monday night
*Central Mexico inspired spread last night
*and a Mongolian Grill dish this evening.

I don't know what has gotten in to me but I am all about trying new things right now. I have actually done my shopping each day for each night's dinner. I am the kind of grocery shopper that usually buys in bulk so that I can limit my time at the grocery store during the week. But this week I have actually enjoyed going in and buying just the essentials needed for the meal. By doing this, we have experimented with some funky new sauces and spices.

And 'New Kitchen New Rules' is still going strong. This will shock nearly every single person who knows our kids but get this......are you ready for it? Tonight they ate steak and they loved it! Steak!!! And they ate the fried rice. And you know why, they wanted to earn a star sticker from the new 'praise' chart that we made today. I will be honest with you, when I saw that steak enter each of their mouths, I gave them each three star stickers just to let them know how proud we were of them for trying something that they have always refused to even look at in the past. We are getting somewhere. Food is finally not as much of an issue here in our home with our kids.

To follow my 'Cooking around the World with Abstract Eyes' trend, I am thinking that we will have something Italian next. Something saucy that we can dip some warm sourdough bread in. Hmm, I am going to have to think about this. Maybe Chicken Parmesan. Or veal parmesan. I've never even bought veal before. In the mood to try new things and to celebrate this weeks creative cooking, I chose a creative blip. A flower from a beautiful bouquet that my good girlfriend gave me last week and a guitar. The guitar symbolizing the music flowing from the flavors of our worldly cuisine..........ha, and with that, I'm outta here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.