Tuscany

By Amalarian

THIS WEEK 180 YEARS AGO

I tried to photograph a page from Andrew Kemp's journal so that it could be read but failed, miserably. I tried to upload it as a large file but after half an hour gave up and made it into a small file and this reduced the quality too much. The server is grinding to a halt. Andrew Kemp was a farm/estate worker who was given a journal for Christmas in 1830. This is a "read" entry more than a "look" entry so pass on by if this sort of thing does not appeal. If I knew how to replace this pic with a better one without losing comments, I would, but can't get it right.

These are such jolly entries I couldn't resist blipping a few of them for this week. It leads me to believe that the lairds were not the bad lads I thought they were. I have not changed his spelling and punctuation.

Tuesday the 15th was a good day. I will start with the 16th:

Wednesday the 16th
was also a good day. I need hardly be saying what we were employed in, for as long as the weather will permit, we have much need to be employed at the plows. for the season is well advanced and we are very much behind with it. in the evening James Thomson the fiddler from BeavourShire came here and another man along with him. The had both the Large andd the Small Vilon. I went to the Castle and brought along with me one or two frins of the servants. So we kept up the fun till a Late hour or I might rather say an early one.

Thursday the 17th was still a good day. we were all this day at the plows and feineshed our ley. In the evening I went to Reat and before I got home I was weet to the skin.

Friday the 18th was a charming day. we have this day commenced plowing the policy this was George Meallor's funeral day D went this night to the Doctor to get himself bled. we was all in bed before he got home. May the evenings's diversion bear the morning's reflections.

I'll skip to Sunday the 20th. we still take the opertunity of this day by slumbering in our beds two long this morning we did not rise till about half past eght till we were wakened by the coahman who had come down for some oats. this day was good. I did not go to church. I went to the holl of Glencarse to se my brother John. I remained there till about five in the evening and was home again about Seven.

By request, a close up of the top left hand corner of the page. Detail close up.

For the record: Dark, thunder storms due. + 5 C. Sunrise 7:15; sunset 5:50 The humidity really is 100% today. Cat vomit all over office. Builder here drilling more holes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.