Resident with camera

By Lawrie

Giving poetry away: #WorldBookNight

I've been very lucky, I applied to be be one of the givers over at World Book Night. Back in August I blipped a hare if you were following me you might remember I applied Seamus Heaney's (one of my favourite poets) "the Stubble Stag" as the words to the blip.

Then, just before christmas, Foto Journey pointed me at World Book Night. The premise is simple, the folks over at WBN are going to give away 1 million books. An army of volunteers (20,000) will be giving away 48 copies of one of their selected books (the rest will be distributed by the team). One of the books was Heaney's 'New Selected Poems' and I had to apply. And I was successful.

I'm getting ready to give away my books now, I can't start until 5th March (World Book Night), but I have ideas (and I will be photographing my activities). There are some in my team at work who need a little poetry, and some on Blip who I think will enjoy Heaney, and they will be given a copy, but as I am in London on the 5th, I will be approaching random strangers on a train on the actual day - if you're one of them, I'm not mad...

And if you are one of the people who get a copy of the books, remember to read it and pass it on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.