Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Talks

I have had the most incredible talks today. A day of talking. Deep talking. The kind of talking that helps me balance myself and grow as a person.

An afternoon with a fellow blipper and very good friend of mine. Someone who lives a very similar life. Has a husband with a very similar job. And parents her children in such similar ways. I am blessed to know that I can talk to her about anything and get understanding, compassion, and empathy. And she can take anything that is on my mind and share a similar experience that they have been dealing with in her family.

A conversation with my Mom that always leaves me feeling at peace and ease. She knows every single angle and corner in my brain. My thoughts and how I process them. She knows this because she is perceptive and because I have always shared my deepest most inner thoughts with her since I was old enough to talk. I remember knowing that if I offered to join her on a 'speed walk' growing up, I would get more than just exercise. I would get that feeling of having worked through whatever it might have been that was troubling me at the time. A relationship with a friend at school, etc. that I really just needed to talk about. Her calm ways have a way of making me want to spill it all out when we have that treasured one on one time.

And my Mother-in-law. My other Mother who met me later on in life but has figured out my depth and how my brain works. Her support, wisdom, and experience are the reasons that I go to her for advice when and if I am needing it. She is logical but also very sensitive and like my own Mom, will let me just talk and talk and talk without making me feel like I am talking too much. How fortunate I am to have her in my life.

Three 'deep dish' conversations today. Might just be a record but what a perfect way to put closure to this week. The feeling of 'being understood' is one of the best in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.