Thar be whales here Cap'n.

Fare well to Dundas.

I've been working at the foot of Dundas Street for a couple of years now, but I have been moved back to the West End. This is good because I will get my walk back. The one that keeps me fit and cheers me up and takes me passed so many wonders of Edinburgh. This is bad because it means I need new shoes every two months and I'm going to have to get up ten minutes earlier every morning. Oh well.

There are Seven of these River Rubbings. Bronze plaques by the artist Nicola Moss. They are placed along the Water of Leith between Balerno and Leith Docks. This particular one commemorates the contribution sperm oil made to the economy. I think this is the only one placed at eye level. All the others are either set into pavements, or are at shin height. Presumably so children can easily take rubbings.

Enjoy your weekend Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.