Yellow tent

This tent has been pitched at the foot of Leith Walk nearly every Saturday for the past few weeks, but today was the first time I went past it on foot and got leaflet-ed. I was offered a "Free Stress Test", both by the leaflet and by some slightly shouty young persons in the tent. Oh, stone me, they're talking about Dianetics; hah, some of us can still remember the 1960s, you know. (Reminds me of Joe Boyd's book White Bicycles.) Can't imagine what they're doing in Leith, though, all the way across town from South Bridge. They didn't seem to have many customers, but then there's stiff competition from the burger stand, the bookmakers, and the queue for methadone prescriptions at Boots.

Queen Victoria on her plinth (just to the right of the tent) looked even less amused than she was by having the Christmas tree plonked right in front of her.

I love Leith!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.