horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Chequerberg

Yesterday's missing butter obtained, et voila. Did you know that the 'Mountbatten' aristos were called 'Battenberg' until 1917 when the rising tide of anti-German sentiment saw them make the change. Pretty much around the same time the Saxe-Coburg und Gotha lot became Fvindsor, sorry, Windsor.

Though apparently, so I learned tonight, this cake is also called 'Church Windaes'. Coincidentally this was the other new surname considered by the Windsors to sound more British, as well as McTavish, Cholmondley-Warner and Aguilera.

Aaaaaanyway, Lorraine Pascale's book comes up trumps again. The only thing I'll change next time is finding a recipe to make my own marzipan as well.

Nice drive down in the borders during the day after a really enjoyable ride in the morning leaving the house at 7am, which some people have queried with me the very existence of, believing Sunday to start sometime around 10am every week.

Tomorrow, the grind. At least I shall have cake in my bag.

p.s. I also learned tonight it is Battenberg, not Battenburg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.