an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Library

Today I walked to work instead of biking. It was very cold, but mostly, I wanted to take the time to see what there might be to notice along the way.

I took 8 or 10 shots on the way to work. Nothing amazing, a decent few. I had decided by the time I got to work which mediocre shot to use.

Seven hours later, I'm packing up to leave work. I put my Nikon in my Chrome bag - nothing to photograph with this sucker at night, unless I have a tripod and time for a long exposure.

I was talking on the phone while I walked home in the cold Cambridge evening - a routine. I took a different turn than usual - unintentional. I get absent-minded when I talk and walk. It wasn't a longer route, just a different one. As I walked down the street, I saw the library all lit up in Library Park right in front of me. Usually I walk past it, not directly toward it - so I hadn't seen it from this angle at night.

As I crossed Cambridge Street into Library Park, I knew I had to take out my camera and take a photograph.

Proof that you can't force it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.