Lightening the Gloom

A trip to the land of flowers is not the same since his Lordship and I have forsworn a cake or even half a cake to have with our miserable cup of tea.

There is absolutely no doubt that had he wavered in his denial, I would have been ecstatic to have sampled some sugary confection, but he was firm in his resolve.
I couldn't help thinking that I would rather have had a cake than the four glasses of wine which I drank last night between our supper and the visit from our new neighbours.
I'm sure the calories in the wine would have more than matched the little cake I had in mind.

Still, it was lovely to see all the new flowers for the spring and wonder which would be suitable for planting on our patio.
I'm amazed that our little tub of violas has weathered the winter still blooming and the pansies have not done so badly either.

I feel that my propensity to blip flowers these dark days is not only because I can't be bothered to stravaig around in the cold on a blip hunt, but rather because they are so bright and cheerful in our wintry gloom.

This blip is of a crocus in a little pot of several in different colours which a friend brought to me last week. It seems that the white ones won the race to open first.

I dared the forecasted snow to appear before my weekly bike ride to my friend of many talents, and it held off, even if it wasn't going to arrive as predicted anyway.
It was a freezing journey but the chat and the apricot scone was worth the icicle at the end of my nose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.