The Life of Bri

By bri

Shopping

I had a minor falling out with Tesco today, when I didn't get my '5p off diesel' voucher even though I had spent £56.

Lady on the checkout couldn't tell me why. Try 'Customer Services'.

Customer No Services more like. After waiting for about 5 mins while fools and their money were parted people bought lottery tickets, first lady didn't have a clue either. Second lady went off to ask someone and then said, "Ah, that's probably because you bought baby milk. It doesn't count."

"Oh, why's that?"

"It just doesn't".

I asked to see the terms and conditions of the offer. (This beside the big poster that does indeed say "exclusions apply - see terms in-store").

"Oh, I don't know where those are....

But baby milk doesn't count for Clubcard, so that'll be why". (I couldn't figure our the relevance of this...)

"So can I see a copy of the terms and conditions where it says this please?"

"I'll get a manager...."

And she did indeed fetch a very polite manager who had managed to track down a copy of the terms and conditions, which do indeed say that sales of "infant formula" are not qualifying purchases, along with other seditious items like prescription medicines and alcohol.

Fair enough... but how is one suppose to know this before you shop? (And it turns out its because it is against the law to offer promotions on baby milk - which Google was able to tell me, the manager wasn't.)

Oh dear, this ranting might become a habit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.