horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Working from Home

Phone on one knee to check work emails and for any calls (it having, as its primary purpose, telephony) from my diverted desk phone. Notebook on the other for, well, writing stuff in... Giving the chickens an hour free ranging before hitting the computer - and an early blip for me. But then I like the shot, and I've got a lot to do.

Lunchtime coffee out (though strangely, because I've got the phone and so on I actually check my emails while out and about, whereas if I'm in the office that hour away is an hour away). Not that there's much happening at all with the office winding down. The closest I got to excitement yesterday was working out how much could be raised from eBay selling some stuff lying about in the office (got the go-ahead to do so, I will of course be extracting a seller's commission).

And all the while hoping for a call from the recruitment agents about the big new job (potential). No call yesterday cos the decision-maker, my new boss (potential), doesn't work Mondays. I don't presume that's a company-wide policy.

Right. Must go, bit of hoovering to do before hopping on a bus to the Shore (just realised I haven't let DaveH or Trev know, but then we only decided on the coffee venue about 20 minutes ago, and I'm only paying a flying visit...), then back home for more tidying up, keeping abreast of emails, possibly making some lime curd, then out for Taiko drumming week 6.

Y'know, years back, I used to sit doing nothing for hours on end. I think I'd lose the plot if I was to do that now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.