RunningBackwards

By Runningbackwards

Boy Racer

Today has been spent at the kitchen table doing work for school.

I have been sharing the table with Playmobil, drawing books, painting, colouring in, lunch and other distractions.

I've been here since 7.45 this morning and now that it's 4.01 I'm grumpy, stir crazy and fed-up.

I'd much rather have spent all day with the boys and Mrs Running Backwards but from their point of view all they can see is Grumpy Dad/Husband!

I could have gone into school and done the work but there you go.

Must not complain - I'm at home when others are working hard, still have a job and have the bonus of enjoying it. Can't I have a little grumble? No? Fair enough.

Our road is a narrow road which, due to parking, is mostly one car width wide. Our house is about 100 yards from a T junction where our road joins a more major road. You can always hear cars rapidly accelerating up to this junction only to break sharply. Where's the sense in that?

The parent in me wants to put up a massive sign saying, 'People do live here you know!'

Cars have far too much importance in modern life. Yes, they're practical, yes they're convenient but the cost, the injuries and death, the environmental damage, the noise.

Blimey, I've surprised myself with my grumpiness. Apologies!

This boy racer won't get far - he has no steering wheel or a windscreen which may prove troublesome when it comes to useful navigation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.