The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Wifie's choice

If you ask your blip consultant for an opininon, then you shouldn't try and argue her out of it. The choice was the coy chaffinch turning his head away from the camera, or a pointillistic cormorant cropped and enlarged to a pixellated blur rather than just a distant dot. Wifie likes the chaffinch because of the light shining through the water droplets on the pendant birch twigs. It's a little impressionistic, but it does convey something of the finch. A second pair of eyes is what is needed when indecision strikes, though I was tending towards the blurry cormorant.

It was the greyest of all grey days today, hardly more than twilight all day. What's more it rained at lunchtime, and I was too busy to escape from the office. The 1000 word statements are being refined and polished. My own went off today, a day ahead of deadline, exactly 1000 words. It gave me time to sit with my colleagues and work through theirs, a second pair of eyes is what is needed after these things have been drafted and edited repeatedly.

On birds, my year list remains stuck on 94. I had a new tick for the garden though. As I came home this evening, there was the unmistakable bleep call of teals flying over.

When will we see the sun again? The grey murk and rain is getting tiresome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.