Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Young memories of The Arab World

Really long day at work and barely saw the girls until we finally all sat down together at 8 o clock.
I hadn't got a Blip and felt under pressure , then realised that the whole point of Blipping was to be fun so we just all chilled out with TV and nail varnishes.. as soon as they were in bed, the inspiration came to me... good old lateral thinking and obscurity.
So as far as obscurity goes , this title must seem the biggest misnomer when you consider the image, but there is a tale ( isn't there always with me !).
Watching more coverage of Libya, there is so much negative press about the Arab World, there is violence, unrest, people without voices, people without homes, the video coverage shows dust, terror and harsh images. How often do we see positive press about The Arab World? I know there are human rights issues, I know there is sadness , I know there is terror but is that all?
When we were little my Dad had a job out in Saudi. On his first trip back to the UK he described the colours: the orange and red sand in the wide open deserts, the large palm trees of greens and browns that spanned the horizon, the huge neon fronted shops in the city centre full of American technology ( Betamax video was the bees knees then!) and most of all the gold souks. This is the first piece of Saudi Gold that he ever bought. The irony of it is that this an image of Mary. Islam forbids religious imagery and Islam does not recognise Mary as an important religious figure which is what made this find all the more unusual. I have other Saudi gold, it's a much richer and stronger gold than UK gold , but this is my favourite as it's my first piece.
This is one of my favourite things because of the memories, because my late father bought it and also because it's my first experience of what the Arab World was: colourful and rich. We joined my Dad and lived there for 5 years.
So...That was my trip down memory lane
In terms of the present, the really good thing that has happened today is that my friend joined Blip. She is one of the people that I mention in my blipography, she was 1/3 inspiration for my joining. She is quite lovely and will fill your Blipdays with heaps of positivity and love, please check her out.
Loveliness

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.