Return to the North

By Viking

Faith, hope, charity and friendship

On Tuesday at 9am I did an assembly about Purple Day - raising funds for the Haiti earthquake victims. In my spiel I mentioned how lucky we were that Christchurch had had no casualties in the Sept 4th earthquake. How prophetic my words were!
Yesterday one of our year 4/5 students (age 8/9) came to me to ask if she could make and sell friendship bracelets for the victims of the earthquake. I could only say yes, of course. We chatted a little about how many she thought she could make in a day and sell etc. All the while I was skeptical about the enterprise (not that she isn't a delightful and dedicated student) but how soon would it be before she got bored, distracted etc. Well, this morning she brought in over a dozen bracelets her and her mum had made. This is the one I bought.
I am truly blessed to work with such children. Each time I lose a little faith in the actions of one a dozen more show me that there is humanity in us all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.