The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Nuts

This picture certainly isn't pin sharp, it was taken through the window this morning when the light was really low and I had to push the ISO almost as far as it would go. But I liked it for its dynamism, it's captured the cheekiness of the jackdaw as he hesitated and stared at me sharply with light blue eyes before flying off.

Every morning I put a handful of monkey nuts out on the feeder, and the jackdaws drop in one at a time, whip a nut away and scarper. Every other photo is blurry because they are usually so quick. By the way, it's the feeder that's listing, not the photo that's wonky.

The murk came back today, a thick clammy fog that misted my glasses and camera lens. I had other photos of the Arnside viaduct vanishing into the fog, but I still preferred the jackdaw (and the blip consultant isn't home yet to ask for an opinion).

I went for an ultrasound scan of the odd lump on my foot. It looks like the tentative diagnosis is correct, a benign ganglion. It confused everyone because of its location between my first and second toes, the technician had never seen one there before. It's good to be different. I have a follow-up appointment next week for a final assessment, but all seems fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.