Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Forsythia

Today has been all about finishing decorating, catching up with chores and preparing for Chris to come home for the weekend. Consequently the time available for photography has been about five minutes - literally! So once again the garden has come into its own!

This Forsythia grows behind our marshy pond, and has been a part of my life for ever. We brought it as a small offset plant from my mother's garden when we moved in, and it has grown and prospered ever since. I think the most widely grown garden Forsythia is a bit brash, but this one has rather pretty lemon flowers and a graceful habit, with gently pendulous branches. I'm not sure which variety it is, but I suspect it might be a form of Forsythia suspensa. It's very easy going and just requires an annual trim after flowering.

Other news - we put the moth trap out last night for the first time this year and caught four species of macro-moth: March Moth, Common Quaker, Clouded Drab and Hebrew Character, all of which will be released again tonight. And the frogs are starting to return to the ponds!

This has turned out to be a rather botanical week - I shall try to aim for more variety next week!

PS I'm not sure how much time I'll get to comment this weekend, but I will catch up eventually - promise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.