wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Fresh

To continue the bready theme I startedyesterday, here's today's offerings: a fresh farmhouse loaf. Or so the recipe called it. There's something therapeutic about the kneading process - I think anyone who's having just a bad day should either make a loaf of bread and pummel to their heart's content, or visit the butcher - I've never met a butcher who isn't wonderfully cheerful with an ability to welcome everyone with a hearty (if you'll excuse the pun) grin and greeting, and genuinely seem to care about you and your day. Anyway, this is my first ever attempt at a loaf of bread (gingerbread and banana loaves don't count), so I'm happy. About to find out if it's cooked all the way through - cup of tea, fresh white bread with homemade raspberry jam. Then I'll start studying. Promise.

I had a few shots of the whole loaf, but this one was my favourite. Originally I was going to take a photo at the pool this morning, but then the change room was filled with small children, and I had no intention of pulling out a camera in that situation. Maybe next week, I have an idea of a shot of bathers/swimsuit/swimmers/togs that could look quite cool. Who knows.

In other news, my chances of getting a new camera have increased significantly with the arrival of some money from the government (meant to be for textbooks, but surely this is just as important.) I've been hankering after a Nikon D5000 for quite a few months now, despite the fact it's been superseded. I just love the flip screen and don't really care about the quality of video. Does anyone have any thoughts on this camera? I know there's a few blippers using it. I've never had an (D)SLR before, and have a limited budget, so to me it seems to have a nice balance of cost, user-friendliness and functionality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.