Feorlean

By feorlean

A sunny John Knox

I was at the Assembly Hall on the Mound in Edinburgh this morning for an awards / graduation session involving head teachers qualifications. The Hall is, of course, within (but not part of ) the Faculty of Divinity of Edinburgh University where - a very long time ago - I studied for a brief period. Then in the the mid 1970's , when I worked as a producer and press officer for the Church of Scotland I was there every year for the General Assembly and from 1999 to 2003 the hall was used for the first reconvened session of the Scottish Parliament, of which I was a member.

So I have been in and out and around this building for years, but I don't think I have ever taken a picture of the statue of John Knox that stands in the courtyard. In today's late winter sunshine it looked particularly impressive - some people will remember it as the backdrop for a famous photograph taken during the visit of Pope John Paul II to Scotland in 1982 when he met Scottish religious leaders at this spot though the only photograph I can find on line is taken from the foot of the statue , looking towards the steps up to the Hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.