Darrell K Morris

By darrellkmorris

Starlings In The Slipstream

I was going to give you an image from a project I have been working on since last spring, which is based on the British Seaside and which i have now expanded to include the relationship between cities and the rivers that run through them, but I shall be saving these photographs until the project is complete and will be exhibited and also hopefully published in a book.

So, today as part of the project I walked from my home in Brockley and headed towards Greenwich which has an affiliation to the sea through it's Naval College and the National Maritime Museum but also more importantly to me what remains of the old dock areas of Deptford and Greenwich and on the other side of the Thames. But, sadly there is very little of the old trading port and docks and wharfs that used to line the river from Tower Bridge to the edges of Essex. I think using a battered old 1950's edition of a London A-Z doesn't particularly help me either and I am usually left disappointed to find the Southern Electric Power Station has been replaced by a modern housing estate. But, editing the portfolio this afternoon I think I added a few more images to the portfolio and will head back to Greenwich soon to see what i may have missed.

So, instead I hope you will enjoy this photograph of a murmuration (yes, that is the official for a group of Starlings I checked) of Starlings. By the look at the grainy sky you would have thought it was miserable in London this morning, but it was lovely I can assure you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.