Floating Weeds

By floatingweeds

Oh Brother! Where Art Thou?

It's been an epic one these last few days. Thursday afternoon I got a call from my eldest brother to say he was going to be in town the following day, and would I like to meet up with him, his wife and our dad for dinner? Well of course I would! I have been feeling seriously home (?) sick recently - missing my family, most of whom live in London. The excitement has finally caught up on me, and I am struggling to write this, weary as I am. After a very lovely evening, we planned to meet again the following day at the farmers market. Too much wine the night before woke me up at 4:30am in the morning and I eventually got up at 6:30am, before going to meet my friend Alice for a Falko brioche and coffee. After she had headed off to work at Ingleby, I spent the rest of the day wandering the streets of Edinburgh in a bit of a daze with Tom (brother) and Susan (his wife). It was a glorious, sunshiney and springlike day, and I had a fine (if a little melancholy) time. Tom and Susan left that afternoon, and I sleepily returned home.

An unplanned visit to Inverleith House for an exhibition opening that night with Derek, was worth the extra effort on my part - they got the caterers in and treated us all to some free and rather delicious food.

So today, the sleepiness is heavier than ever, but despite that, I finished off my laundry, and hung it to dry, then spent a couple of hours helping Morv in the allotment - I did some serious digging in the afternoon sun. Lovely it was!

Morven just baked pumpkin muffins, and the flat is filled with the smell of cinnamon. Tonight, my dreams will be of breakfast (as they are most nights) - muffin with yoghurt and honey...........

PS: I bought a knitting machine from the car-boot sale today. My friend Lizzy is coming over tomorrow to show me how it works. Yay for that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.