[blowfish]

By blowfish

internalize

Every time I accompany Leah to the library we tend to sit at the same table on the second floor. And every time we sit there my eye always wanders over to this gigantic anatomy book that is lying flat, cover up, on the bottom shelf next to this table. Today, I finally picked it up and took this extreme close-up shot. It is easily one of the biggest books I have ever wielded--I don't mean in terms of thickness (it is quite slim, actually) but in regards to height. This book has to be almost four feet tall and when spread open (I had to move to another table for this task), it embodies a broad three and a half foot 'wingspan' at the very least. Unfortunately, the pictures were not as detailed or as artistically rendered as I would have hoped (nothing like the Netters stuff that Leah has anyways) but the sheer size of the volume has to be appreciated, the enormity of its aesthetic is worthy of marvel. But, then again, I can be simple.

I love all libraries for a near countless number of reasons but the most superficial one is their blazing WiFi. It allows me to get a lot of things accomplished without the frustration of our home connection. For the most part, I was fairly productive this afternoon because of this, with the highlight probably being that I sent out some important feelers on English PhD programs I may apply to soon.

Not too sure yet on the Sunday Night Ride this evening. This cruel and sudden humid streak has left me sluggish and sticky (like the internet at home here) and I feel as if my insides are just not up to it at the moment. And I need to keep writing but this slowness has webbed itself gumily over those nerve centers as well. Our morning began nicely with this pace, however, and I find myself reliving our unrushed coffee table conversation from earlier, at the tiny Ikea table, with our plants and our dry-erase board and our mutual appreciation of each other's humanistic finery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.