Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Carbon Landscape

I made a late afternoon dash across Baildon Moor to be rewarded by finally seeing the Snow Buntings. On the walk over I also saw my first frogspawn on the moor this year, although in a different pond to the one where I saw frogs active yesterday.

This image is from the walk back home. After a dull day, it was starting to brighten up. I've taken versions of this scene many times, but what drew me in today was the symmetry of the power station stack plumes on the skyline - like three umbilical cords attached to the cloud layer above.

From left to right you have Drax, Eggborough, and Ferrybridge power stations. From the top of the moor you can also see West Burton Power Station, way down in Nottinghamshire, making a carbon landscape of a third of the UK's coal-generated electricity.

I've back-blipped yesterday after hitting laptop difficulties.

umbilical plumes ~ a tangible connection ~ carbon and climate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.