Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Making up the numbers

These blip milestones creep up on me! I did, indeed, think about this 300 over the last couple of days and wanted to capture something of the essence of Rio de Janeiro: beaches, coconuts, suntan cream (factor 300?!), caipiroskas?? But not to be!

So here's my 300th shot which is made up of little bits and bobs of building materials we had to buy today (there must be over 100 of these things!). It represents our life in Rio at the moment!

This morning Bb and I met our workman at 8am to head out to Leroy Merlin (big DIY store 45 mins outside of Rio in Barra), thinking we'd be there for a couple of hours. We got back to Rio at 6.30pm!! And we really did have everything including the kitchen sink with us! The time in the shop was lengthened by it taking an hour at the cash desk to get our Spanish card authorised and by that time their system had cancelled the transaction and so the guy had to manually put every single transaction from the receipt into the system again. Of course there was a difference of 3 reials (nothing, I mean really nothing!) but it had to be checked by another person to find the difference!!! Another hour!

So now a genuine thanks to everyone who comes in to comment, those who inspire me to do better but who also happily accept my iPhone snapshots when it's all I've managed, and whose journals I love but don't always have time to comment on. Thanks to Blip Central, of course, as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.