Return to the North

By Viking

A Gift

I rose early this morning and as I walked into the bathroom I could see a pink hue out the frosted glass. So instead of showering I ventured outside in my sarong (too hot for dressing gown) and took a dozen shots of a beautiful sunrise. I then stood and contemplated the week before me. (please note picture is straightened and sharpened but no colour enhancement)
Last week was a tough week for all NZ'ers (and their waifs and strays like me) and sometimes it is hard to imagine that a new and glorious day will ever come. This morning was that day for me. (I could get all religious but won't) But below is all but the first verse of a poem I found that I think encapsulates how I feel and how I hope those in Christchurch can one day feel again.

Each day's a new beginning,
A time to start anew,
While all the stars are sleeping,
The rose is fresh with dew.

Each day's a new creation,
Too lovely to ignore,
We may find a blessing,
Just outside our door.

We cannot keep the past,
Like fireflies in a jar;
Nor journey to the future,
By wishing on a star.

Every sunrise is a blessing,
A gift for just today,
Rejoice my friend,
Embrace it before it fades away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.