wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Cheeky

Yesterday I introduced you to Pippin, the new member of our family. And today you get another indulgent shot of him basking in the sun, chewing things. Well, I say chewing things, I've just swapped photos twice...This was the other option.

He's 8 weeks old, and tiny! All our other cats have been adults when we got them, so this is pretty much a completely new experience. Any hints and tips would be more than welcome. We went out hoping to find a 6-12 month old, but the centre only had little kittens or big adults. We live in a bushy area with lots of huntable wildlife, so needed to make sure we could train the new cat to be a mostly inside kitty, so a younger one was more ideal. But how could we say no to a kitten who jumps on your should, sits comfortably, and says "So, are we leaving yet?"

And so we get a little bouncing bundle of fur to deal with until he calms a little. Currently he's sleeping on my lap, but I'm sure the switch will soon flick to 'on', and he'll bounce, chew, scratch, jump, fall, collide and slide his way around the house until the next nap time. I think he's going to be a lot of fun. Although if he keeps waking me at 6am and insisting he cannot be alone and must play, I may change my mind. He's more used to the house now though, so I should just be able to kick him out of my room so he can roam for a while until the house wakes up.

You know it's time to visit the cats' home when you start to dream about owning cats. So I'm happy as can be to have a kitty cat again. But I promise this isn't going to turn into a journal about the Life of Pippin. Only occasionally. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.