'im indoors

By imindoors

I'm an Eskimo in New York.

This is a wee homage to The Boyle Family. They're kinda groovy. Well, kinda. But I do like the theory of the random event that their 'art' is based on. In very basic terms, they throw a dart at maps, and wherever it lands, they will make an exact replica in resin of that spot.
I like random, and to give you a rather long-winded, but true, example, I have a story for you......are you sitting comfortably?
Around 80 years ago, a mountaineer died on the slopes of an Alaskan mountain and his body was found by a local Inuit native of the area. The very rich family of the mountaineer asked for the Inuit to accompany the dead son's body back to New York and they would pay him handsomely for his time.
So this Inuit, who had never been beyond 30 miles of his home and didn't speak a word of English, travelled to New York. As promised, the family paid him well but instead of going back home he decided to spend a little time in this new world he had landed in. His preferred mode of travel turned out to be the train and, because he spoke no English, he would queue in train stations to get his ticket and wherever the person in front of him was going he would repeat that completely random destination to the ticket man.
He did this for.......ahem.......20 years.
I loved this idea of chance and random coincidence, and, about ten years ago I went to Spain with the idea of doing something similar.
I got to Barcelona by train from London and booked a hotel for one night with the intention of travelling again the next day.
Instead, however, I got completely hammered with some locals that night and ended up staying in Barcelona for the entire 3 weeks.
I did meet them by chance though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.