Unnatural Vision

By nickm

Tea... Earl Grey - Hot!

I'm a big tea drinker - always have been. (Tetley's, two sugars, don't let it stew too long thanks!)

The problem is I very rarely drink a whole cup whilst it's hot. In the two minutes I let it sit on the coffee table waiting whilst it's cool enough to drink without burning my tongue, I usually get engrossed in the television, or writing an email, or chatting to my flatmate, and then by the time I remember I made a cuppa, it's luke-warm or even stone cold.

So - I drink a lot of re-heated microwaved tea. Which doesn't taste nearly as nice, but is much less wasteful than throwing the first one away and making a fresh one.

Of course I long for the day when scientists invent replicators (á la Star Trek) so that I can simply put a cold cup back in to be dematerialised and recycled, and have a fresh hot cup replicated instead. But as my flatmate and I both agree (we're huge Trek fans) if replicators were a reality we'd be morbidly obese, as we'd just sit in front of it with a knife and fork eating obscene amounts of lemon cheesecake...

Still - at least you wouldn't have to wash a dish ever again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.