Embers From The Stars

By phoenixvolta

Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough

So recently I've been considering quitting the cigarettes, nasty habit and all that. I first started smoking when I was 16 and I always knew that I didn't want to smoke for the rest of my life. However now as I've grown up finding the cut off point is more difficult. For example when I was younger I always seen the end of my time at University as a good point to kick the habit.

I did infact try to quit shortly after leaving university and it worked rather well. I successfully stopped for a month or so. However a lot of my friends smoked so then it became difficult for me not to have a smoke on social occasions. So I took up smoking again as a social smoker, foolishly convincing myself that's where it would end. But it wasn't long until I was back to smoking regularly again. I wouldn't say I'm a terrible smoker, I smoke around 10-15 a day which is far less than many others, but I suppose that's not really the point.

I didn't start smoking due to any peer pressure, quite the opposite. I went through a long period where lots of people were trying to get me to smoke but I didn't do it because I didn't want to. Then the peer pressure stopped and somewhere down the line I started smoking because I decided I wanted to. Again when I quit I did it because I wanted to, because I wasn't enjoying smoking anymore. When I started smoking again it wasn't due to a lack of will power, I was finding it fairly easy, It was simply because I realised I enjoyed smoking again.

Well the trend has come full circle and Im considering quitting again, due to lack of enjoyment, maybe this will be the last time? Wish me luck!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08_Jsfi1dbE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.