Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Lincolnshire cabbage

After yesterday's brief taste of spring, once again we've returned to cold, grey mizzle. Apart from collecting essential groceries I haven't left the house - and the dogs haven't even asked to go out! I seem to have spent most of the day sorting through old papers. I've managed to recycle about half of what I've gone through, but the rest has been packed back into boxes. It's been rather strange coming across all sorts of reminders of my childhood and teenage years, bringing back memories I'd almost forgotten.

Inbetween the sorting out I've been tending Alex. This hasn't been too onerous as he's been asleep most of the day. It's mostly involved bringing him regular drinks of Ribena, accompanied by penicillin and ibuprofen. But the treatment seems to be working and this evening he's looking a lot perkier, and said he may even try to eat something. As a special treat I've made a Creme Caramel, but despite following the cooking instructions, I think it may be a bit overdone!

In desparation, I hunted through the fridge late this afternoon to find a vegetable to blip. After some consideration I chose this cabbage, because I liked the symmetrical shape of the enfolding leaves. I also think it looks like a person holding their hands over their head. It arrived yesterday in our fortnightly organic vegetable box, which comes from Woodlands Farm in Lincolnshire. Although I grow a few select vegetables in spring and summer, I find it easier to let someone else do all the basics - and they're very fresh and tasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.