just be

By justbe

By a nose...

My Nose Garden

Shel Silverstein

I have rowses and rowses of noses and noses,
And why they all growses I really can't guess.
No lilies or roses, just cold-catching noses,
And when they all blowses, it's really a mess.

They runs and they glowses, these sneezity noses,
They drips and they flowses, they blooms and they dies.
But you can't bring no noses to fine flower showses
And really expect them to give you a prize.

But each mornin' I goeses to water with hoses
These rowses of noses that I cannot sell,
These red sniffly noses that cause all my woeses,
Why even the crowese complain that they smell.

Why noses, not roses? Well, nobody knowses.
Why do you supposes they growses this think?
But since there's no roses come gather some noses--
I guarantee each one's a good nose to pick.

The poem is for Oliver, it's silly enough I hope!


My chipmunks are frolicking too far on a wall by the woods, so I'll stick to the nosey one on the doorstep, who is giving the cats a thrill.

Feeling so much better, but as a retired one, I have the luxury of easing back into good health...which can't come soon enough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.