The way I see it.

By christinePears

Surf kayaking

Wasn't expecting any surf action when I went down to the harbour and was surprised to see half a dozen big vans parked up and surfers getting kitted out. There were not huge waves but some nice gentle rolling ones. I was pleasantly surprised when they emerged complete with surf kayaks and started playing in the surf. From a blipper's point of view surf kayakers are much more fun as they move about much faster, can easily get "outback" and enjoy twisting and turning on the waves and rolling through the ones they don't want to meet head on.

I used to do a lot of sea kayaking when I lived in Lewis but playing in the surf was never my favourite thing to do - probably because I once landed face down in the sand after a big one picked me up and I mistimed my support stroke! Anyway it was fun to watch these guys enjoy the waves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.