Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

A little corner of America

I had lunch with James Sillavan at The Guardian today. It is his day to draw the cartoon on the Opinion page.

One of the things he showed me was an image grab of a book he wanted to look at. Photographs of Detroit.

One of the things I was left to think about is what you bring with you when you take a photograph. This varys in emotional content for me, veering from the very clinical graphic image, taken on a very sperficial level because the shapes or colours work well together.

The other end of the extreme being when I'm very depressed and am trying to find an outlet or expression for that feeling in order to be released from it in some way.

There are many variations in between.

Today's picture is inspired by a book cover James showed me, photographs of Detroit. I didn't get to look inside but had it in mind to create my own little portrait of America today, only in Kings Cross.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.