A Wave On The Ocean

By Bensholto

Not work

View LARGE

I decided to try the latest challenge: work.

The only thing is, I'm a civil servant, so our "standards of behaviour" kind of preclude me from passing much of an opinion about the nature of my work and all that malarkey. That includes a degree of care about photos in the workplace that are then on the internet..

However, the bit I can say is that from my desk in Salford Quays, I work in IT for central government, developing reports on all sorts of data that are ultimately passed up the line to ministers and senior Whitehall civil servants, to help reinforce decisions that are being made about whatever is the flavour of the month. (Job title: Business Intelligence analyst.)

Some of these decisions are things that are regularly featured in newspapers and on TV. My reports don?t get mentioned, I'm not that important. ;-)

As my work is all done on a computer, I thought it would be a bit boring to try and post a picture of that, so then I wondered about something to do with my job, and I remembered this little badge. This little badge means I have passed a professional qualification to do my job - it's the ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library) foundation certificate of the ITSMF (IT Service Management Foundation), which means, well, that I can do my job.

But then when I was thinking of taking this, a couple of other things I've come across on blip came to mind.

The first thing that came to mind was the challenge that Appreciation set herself over the past few weeks, to take photos with a point and shoot camera as opposed to her usual DSLR, so I thought I'd use my old Canon Powershot A490 for this. It might be a point and shoot, but it's got a decent ten megapixels and has a 'program' mode that I've used for this. And a very nice macro option as well.

(I don?t have a DSLR, I've a Canon SX30is "bridge" camera but I guess you can see what I mean.)

Another was a new blipper, jacca (son of 19mart71) who said he was interested in a new camera. I suggested something like the Canon I've used in this photo.

Phew! Not like me to write so much. I think me writing so much just shows that my love for blip is growing.

Note to self: tomorrow, try to get a snap so that I can join the ponce club.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.