Capital adventures

By marchmont

Confetti?

Royal couples don't have confetti but yesterday we thought the fallen cherry blossom could substitute.

I should never leave home without my camera - but this morning (off to recover gym kit from Ash at Peter's Yard) I did, so this is from my phone. In a few days the blossom will be over for another year but today there are still flowers on the trees, as well as on the ground and I like the contrast.

Spent some time this morning trying to interpret our mtDNA results. My maternal line is X2b - the Wanderers. We originated in the Levant (splitting from the N group that left Africa) about 30,000 years ago and the went to the Caucasus before moving into Europe but less than 2% of Europeans are X2b, apart from Orkney that is where the percentage is about 7%. I always knew we were special! Be interesting to see what the y test says when it arrives.

Spent the afternoon in the 'garden' - finally getting round to planting, potatoes, sweet peas, lavender, but I've mislaid my good trowel and having no outside tap is a real challenge. Looks like it's going to be fine again tomorrow so I'll be back.

Meanwhile opened a bottle of very chilled Domaine Begude rose from the Kinglake's winery near Limoux, SW France. One day I'll get round to back blipping the lunch I had there in 2009. I had lunch there in July 2009.

TWIG lunch, Domaine Begude


Oh and it's a year today since I got back to Edinburgh after the 3 month rtw trip - doesn't time fly...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.