start gradually

A coincidental year after my bike was fished out of the cupboard 'neath the stair (after a short break from being used regularly) and brought to the house I received the parcels recently ordered from eBay containing a set of clippy pedals and the appropriate shoes to fit onto them, one of which was delivered this morning whilst the other had to be collected as it had allegedly been delivery-attempted yesterday. No-one seems to want to make a properly double-sided grippy platform any more; there's a set (though one is severely bent) on my old frame which I can't remove from the crank, the set I'm using at the moment is only properly grippy on one side and the BMX platforms I used last year only worked with a set of trainers which have since expired. I have no wish to start pulling on the upstroke when my knees and ankles have spent the past three million years evolving away from being pulled but having to occasionally flip a pedal over mid-stroke to get the grippy side isn't otherwise going to stop until I get round to making a mould from the bottom of my shoe, creating an insert for each side of a pedal and adding little grippy spiky bits. I settled for adding a load of cable-ties which simultaneously indicate (either visually or through the soles of my trainers) which way round the pedal is as well as improving the grip on the side where the protrusions from the metal cage are more rounded than pointy, which helps but still requires either flipping or looking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.