Busy day

For the first time in I don't know how long, I didn't go to the music session today. I must admit to a slight feeling of guilt because of not being there, even though a golden rule is that members turn up if and when they can, no questions asked. Still, it all felt a bit strange.

The reason was that I desperately needed to concentrate on work. Things have piled up a bit during the recent saga of hospital visits, meetings with consultants, and this and that test, but it'd got to the stage when knuckling down can't be put off any longer. Being at home with an opportunity to watch qualifying for a Formula 1 Grand Prix is highly unusual because of the clash with the music sessions, and I was sorely tempted to down tools for a bit and watch today's Monte Carlo drama unfold. Having already heard about Sergio Perez's crash, watching the re-broadcast later on wasn't the same as seeing things unfold in real time, but still it was all rather horrifying. Thankfully, Sergio appears to be reasonably fine, though unfit to drive in the race tomorrow.

I did get a good bit of work done (though progress was frustratingly slow to begin with), and was able to take a break at 6.00 pm when Carl came over on his way to a party near my place. I have him a lift to the house and went on for a return visit to Moloughney's restaurant in Clontarf for a bite to eat. I'd been there before and had been impressed. If anything, it was better this evening: delicious chicken liver paté to start, followed by gorgeous sea trout. Settling down to work after that wasn't easy, but I managed somehow and worked through until Carl phoned when the party was winding down. Providing a pick-up taxi service and then one late-night G&T finished off a busy but productive day.

More work tomorrow, so it's unlikely I'll get to watch the Grand Prix live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.