Cooden Beach

The wind was very blowy today and the kite-surfers and wind-surfers raced over the sea. They must have very strong arms!

Fred and I took the train down to Polegate to cycle the Cuckoo Trail down to the coast and along to Bexhill-on-Sea. Normally, bicycles on trains aren't too much of a problem when it isn't commuter time. However, the train to Clapham Junction was four carriages shorter than normal so we had to cram in with lots of people. Of course, there's only one part of one carriage in the whole train that can take (in that one space) bicycles, pushchairs and wheelchairs. The latter two have priority so I stand with my folded-up bicycle in the doorway. The train to Polegate was just as rammed so I was very pleased to escape on to the Cuckoo Trail, which was very quiet and green. The London to Brighton cycle ride was on today so we hardly encountered any cyclists.

At Cooden Beach, we watched the surfers for a while before heading to Bexhill-on-Sea for a cup of tea and a toasted sandwich. I was disappointed that the De La Warr Pavilion didn't have any exhibitions on or even hot food, but we found a lovely Italian café across the way that supplied a complimentary ginger nut with each hot beverage, so I was very happy indeed.

The train home was a nightmare. I think I might give that particular train route a wide berth for cycle adventures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.