Artista

Apologies for blipping yet another pic of me (taken by daughter in law, W H, but with my camera, just before midnight). It was either that or a boring long distance shot of the familiar Tesco/IKEA signboards or the outside of 'Dave's Deli' - captured for obvious reasons.

This morning I did what all Malaysians do - went to a Mall, 1 Utama. They have aircon and this one was HUGE. However, there is something depressing about coming all this distance and being surrounded by M & S, Nine West, Zara, Gap, Hilfiger etc etc. I walked round and round and marvelled at the internal Rainforest, complete with koi and the various food outlets - local and ubiquitous - O'Briens, Mickey D's, Burger King. I bought - Australian red seedless grapes, NZ Kiwis, Schweppes Tonic and - Malaysian orange juice (from imported oranges, I guess). Then it was lunch in a Chinese restaurant - terribel service and back to Mont Kiara the pool.

Friday afternoon so there were lots of kids - all expats.

W H was at Archidex 11, architect Conference, all day and didn't get back till nearly 8. G and his colleague from school turned up at 9 having already had 2 drinks at another colleague's followed by a very circuitous taxi ride to get home. We ate, drank G & T and then went out to 'Artista' (NOT Cafe Artista in Marchmont but Artista bar in yet another Mall) to hear another of G's colleagues (now head of music) and his band perform. They were good, especially the female vocalist. Listening to the words I began to think 'I'll Be Watching You' really resonates.

W H blipped G (PE), two of his colleagues, Ed (Head of PE) and Ann (now Head of Primary), and me (ex .....). Later another 2 teacher friends from Scotland joined us. So fellow blippers after 3 more G & T's, and spirited discussions about teachers and dealing with difficult pupils and how to do an eightsome reel/Hooligan's Jig, Orcadian Strip the Willow properly, it was early this morning before we got back to the apartment and G opened the Ardbeg - did I mention he has an awesome collection of single malts? Sensibly I had coffee and W H sat looking tired and resigned. I remember that feeling.

It was nearly 4 before we got to bed and she is off to the Conference again all day today.

Me - sew cats, go to pool, commune with #1 son - when he surfaces.

Oh, and since I'm writing this on the 2nd not the 1st it's my 'half birthday' today - now only 18 months to the next big 0 - what a depressing thought.

Edit - actually W H was still in bed too and didn't leave for the Conference till after 11.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.