is photographs

By isphotographs

my chav feet :: footwear #fail

Being an ageing mod I have always had a bit of a footwear fetish; one of the major perks of self-employment in the creative industries means that I have always been able to get away with wearing what I like on my feet; trainers are ok for work. I'm also from a family of thrifty Scottish cheapskates and I love poking around bargain retail outlet shoe emporiums for end of lines or strange footwear nobody else wanted to go near. Lucky for me, Mrs S does too, but she seems to be able to look without buying; I've never mastered that.

Sometimes, I'll just go right out there in my choice of shoe and 'unusual' doesn't always equal 'cool' - maybe my latest addition is testimony to that. Imagine my dismay to have my appalled 15 year old son dismiss my beautiful new mustard yellow & black Gio-Goi trainers as "chav". How very un-PC of him. What does he know - he's a Converse wearing shoe-snob (chip off the old block...).

However I fear he will get the last laugh - I put them on this morning for only the second time, only to discover a large hole has appeared where the sole meets the fabric; you get what you pay for, huh. Guess they'll have to go back to the shop... hmmm, I wonder what else they've got new in stock since the weekend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.