The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Fallow

The dull weather makes for a fallow period for blipping, so in the morning mizzle I was pleased to see the fallow bucks down by the swollen River Bela. There were deer at either end of my commute to and from work today. When I got home the roe doe was in the lane, and stood and watched me, then casually walked down the drive and into the garden for a browse on the roses.

The fallow bucks maintain a separate herd to the hinds and are often down by the river. The larger, older bucks have antlers that are still covered in velvet. Some of the younger bucks have left the maternal herd and are now hanging out with the big boys, as you can see here. I have a sequence of photos of the one on the right watching a duck paddling past.

An odd sort of day. At work we have discovered that we have Captain Pugwash amongst our ranks. I had never noticed the similarity before, but when pointed out, it is quite remarkable. I rather wish it hadn't been drawn to my attention as the giggles are liable to erupt without warning.

I have just spoken to my sister, and my Dad is back in hospital tonight - the third time in the last month. They have a tentative diagnosis, but more tests are needed. Fingers crossed.

A year ago: the first of the 8 ridiculous Life.turns entries, misleadingly called Life.turns II (there were 8 different poses, and I did the second one first). It's worth reading for the story of a cave and a frog perhaps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.