Do Something !!!

By DoSomething

Runner Bean Chutney

Made two huge jars of runner bean chutney last night - it is similar to a piccalilli having a mustard sauce rather than a pickling spiced vinegar. It would have been piccalilli coloured but for the demerara and light soft brown sugar I used. I can't see it lasting long, it seems to be going down very well!

Two problems with production though - I was nearly blinded by the weapons grade onions we seem to grown this year, and the battery on my scales ran out whilst measuring out the sugar right at the end of the process, so I had to weigh a bit, the scales would immediately turn themselves off, I'd turn them on and quickly weigh out some more,they'd turn off, I'd have to add the amounts together, and repeat....not ideal. Have ordered TWO new batteries this morning, one to use now, and one to not be able to find next time it goes flat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.