Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Sign

So, today was the second "warm up" trip to college! The alarm went at 6 and I suddenly realised that the next 12 weeks are going to be tough - very tough. Cold and almost still dark, I wondered how on earth I was going to get through it when things get really cold and really dark later on!

Then I went through to the study and saw my gorgeous little ratties, and they looked so awake and happy to see me that I decided they'll help me through the cold dark early mornings!

And so we parked up at Scharwenka's, and I walked to college, arriving in perfect time for nothing at all this morning except noticing that the graffiti-marked sign had been replaced with a fresh new one!

Then it was into town for a cup of tea, a few jobs, and a look at the footcare sections in both Boots and Superdrug - my feet were blistered on the bottom and I wondered if there was anything good to help them. There were special "blister plasters", but they were rather expensive, so I just got a small tube of Germolene instead. I then walked the 3.5 miles back to Scharwenka's, feeling some of the more spectacular blisters pop en route, but refusing to worry - the simple physical pain of blisters on the bottoms of my feet is so much easier to deal with than the mental stuff I've had over the last few years anyway.

At Scharwenka's I Germolened my feet and then we went to the pub for lunch, which was very much needed. We then went back home and nattered and so on until the Wonderspouse arrived, then it was usual Friday night shopping and then home.

Once home I was finally able to put my feet up. The Wonderspouse also called to see how the consultation with the radiographer went - apparently MiL may have to have some surgery if they can't reach all the cancer with the radiotherapy - they have to be rather careful, because if they destroy too much of her lung then she won't have enough lung left to be able to breathe.

Then it was supper, bath with book and bed. After the bath I popped the remaining blisters with a pin and then smeared more Germolene on them! I was quite pleased to have made 2 walks to college and back this week - a total of 14 miles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.