Long before the dinosaurs...

Best viewed ancient large

This is a female southern hawker - she's been dancing around the pond now for days & it's only this afternoon that she settled for a picture. Then she danced some more & began to lay eggs here, there & everywhere by the pond. And then she was joined by two more - I have never seen 3 together! I missed the shot unfortunately when all 3 fought for the same leaf to sit on, but I did get:

Two together

Side on - annoying grass blades in the way!

Laying her eggs

Little Larry was around as ever, I called his name, down he came:

And posed beautifully

He pic pic pic'd at one point, looking at me, I asked why? He pic pic pic'd more & was watching something opposite, I turned round & there sat a cat half hidden amongst the ivy & honeysuckle leaves on the window shelf... it's a pretty cat, but like so many cats, loves chasing & killing things! So I chased it off... I hate doing that, as I love them so much... but if anything happened to Little Larry I'd be beside myself.

And anyway:

He's not a robin, he's an angel!

Charlie's Blip:

Here's looking at you kid

Thanks again to all the wonderful comments from yesterday's School cap - he of course would have been the blip today if the ancient dragon hadn't turned up - so well camouflaged in the tall grass! :) xxx


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.