PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Long shadows

Four sea-swims on four consecutive days is a record for me, I think, even in mid-summer but, leading into October, it's amazing! And guess what I spotted as we left the beach? Another woolly bear (tiger moth caterpillar)! At least, I thought it was another (it seemed a bit darker; less gingery on top), but Mr PicturePoems, whose hearing is better than mine, said it was the same one, cos he heard it say, "Oh, no, not you again! Go off and leave me alone." Or words to that effect.

The sea was even calmer and the air even warmer than yesterday. There were fewer yachts but more cattle, which logically suggests that the boats had turned into cows overnight - or is that bullocks? Heading home we really had to drag our shadows behind us. As you can see, they stretched and stretched as they didn't want to leave the beach. So that's it then; watched the weather forecast when we got home, and our lovely Indian summer is coming to an end. It's been smashing, and I feel so lucky to have been able to enjoy it in this beautiful part of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.