just allan

By allan

Rust Bucket

Here's another of my bikes. Arguably this is my favourite bike - Argument below.

I went to the Filmhouse after work to see Midnight in Paris, which has instantly become my favourite film. Beautiful sentiment, scenes, and rain.

I then cycled through Edinburgh in the dark, enjoying the evening and the parallels with Paris. Old, atmospheric, romantic cities.

Other than that, I enjoyed lovely chats via text and voice from my pals Dotty and Louise. Life Turns, eh?

Here's the "Favourite Bike" argument (I have a fair few bikes...) :
First, I ride this bike more often than any other. That's because it lives in Waverley Station in the Josta bike racks, so I ride it through Edinburgh to work most days. Second, it's unique. It'll take a fine cyclist's eye to tell this from a crappy Asda bike, but by hell this works. An old steel Edinburgh Bicycle Contour frame dressed up in green Hammerite to look shite. Orange F7 forks ; those classic Deore V-brakes ; On-One Mary bars are all good. The Truvativ cranks were actually a bargain mistake : tandem cranks - the pedal threads are the wrong way round. So, I had to swap the pedals on their axles to make the SPDs work, and degrease the threads with Loctite as well to keep them in place. I could tell you a story about the headset, the wheels, the bottom bracket and the seat. But that'll do. Third, I won the oldest bike in the race award for this bike at the UK SingleSpeed Championships at Dalby Forest a couple of years ago, and there are some very happy memories there. Fourth, it's simply a joy to ride. I love this bike.

Sorry other, more expensive bikes. I'm loyal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.